Seasons of Magic

Seasons of Magic will be a run of 16+ novelette-to-novella-length fairy tale retellings. Stories will be released seasonally and bound in collections of four by season (winter, spring, summer, and fall). Each story is standalone, and books may be read in any order. Stay tuned for more updates!

Of the Clouds

Fireflies & Faeries #1, Seasons of Magic #1

What would you do to be free?

Shaman-in-training Quri only knows her master’s hut…until the neighboring prince arrives, showing her what life could be. But her master has other plans for Quri, and she will stop at nothing to keep her young apprentice from leaving her, including locking her in an old tomb. Now, Quri must defy her master to learn the magic she needs to free herself or lose her chance for the prince, her own happiness, and the life she wants. Can Quri find the strength she needs to save herself and the prince, or will the shaman keep her locked up forever?

This sweet and exciting retelling of Rapunzel will have you asking what you would do for your freedom.

Get a copy ~ Add to Goodreads

Pumpkin Spice Pie-Jinks

Pumpkins & Shades #1, Seasons of Magic #2

When fate comes knocking, feed it pie!

Reese was never a risk-taker…that is, until she quit her job to open a bakery serving magical pies from her home. Now, she has the opportunity of a lifetime to win a contract with the visiting Autumn Court. But when two troublesome Fae appear on her doorstep, determined to find a mate for their prince, Reese’s life is thrown into chaos, and she begins to question every choice she has made. Can she learn to take a risk on her new life, despite the troubles around her? Or will the mischief of the Fae drive her business into ruin-forcing her to move back in with her parents?

This light and entertaining tale is inspired by Hansel & Gretel and is a perfect way to celebrate the autumn season.

Get a copy ~ Add to Goodreads

Freeze Thaw

Flurries & Phantoms #1, Seasons of Magic #3

An archaeology student, an Ice Age princess, and an undead sorceress…

Talia was meant to be her clan’s greatest leader. But when her parents fail to invite a powerful—and very dangerous—sorceress to her birth party, the clan’s long-desired blessing becomes their final curse. As Talia comes of age, the power of the sorceress finds her, and she is lost in a blizzard.

Millennia later, archeaology student Owen is on the field trip of his life to a glacier dig. But what begins as a routine dig soon becomes much more when he discovers a perfectly preserved mummy in the ice—a mummy that returns to life and drags him into a millennias-old dispute.

For deeper in the glacier, dark magic is at work, waking the sorceress known as the Shadow Woman, and she will stop at nothing to end Talia’s life and destroy the clan once and for all. If Talia and Owen can’t stop her, she will destroy not only Talia but also Owen and the rest of the team. But if they can survive, they may just re-discover more than they could have ever hoped for.

This was a Top Ten Finalist for the Five Magic Spindles contest by Rooglewood Press.

Get a copy ~ Add to Goodreads

All That Glimmers

Petals & Sirens #1, Seasons of Magic #4

Hallie just made the stupidest mistake of her life. Twice.

After the loss of her longtime friend, college student Hallie just needed a win. Too bad she got rejected from the only graduate program she applied to. But when a mysterious Fae appears offering to change that rejection to an acceptance, her choice seems clear. And all she has to give him is her first discovery—her academic firstborn.

But when the time comes to pay up, Hallie can’t go through with it. She never counted on a discovery that could bring her friend back to life. So she offers a new bargain: she keeps the knowledge, but she must figure out who this mysterious Fae is…or stay in the Spring Court forever. Now she must race the clock to investigate the Court, solve this mystery, and find out how to bring her friend back. Otherwise, she can forget about fixing her mistakes and say goodbye to her human life for good.

This retelling of Rumplestiltskin is a powerful story of loss, acceptance, and new beginnings. How far would you go to fix your worst mistakes?

Amazon ~ Non-Amazon ~ Add to Goodreads

Cold Snap (Title not final)

Flurries & Phantoms #2, Seasons of Magic #TBD

Iclyn is a mermaid in a clan of ice magic and heir to the throne. But then she gains her ice magic and tries to win the love of her stepmother, the Queen, only to find out that she doesn’t have to win the love of the people who really count. This fantastical retelling of Snow White will plunge you into the icy seas off the coast of Iceland and into a world of merfolk unlike any other. Release TBD

This was a finalist for the Five Poison Apples contest by Rooglewood Press in 2017.

more titles to come!