Witching Hour Blog Tour: Interview with Pursy

Today is an extra special treat. It’s a story by an author I have worked with (the same fantastic lady who designed the cover for This Cursed Flame), and it’s one I had the extra special honor of proofreading (Part 2, that is). And I can tell you right now, it’s soooo good. Also, cats play a starring role. Can it get any better?

Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom for the giveaway, and join in on the other blogs for books snippets, interviews, and more fun!

About the Book

Part One: As shadows encroach on the city of Lite, one cat stands between humanity and the hounds of darkness. Romeo takes it upon himself to find a suitor for his human Isabel in order to save the city and sets his sights on the unlikeliest of candidates. Can true love really save the day? Read Part One for FREE on Amazon and Most Digital Stores.

Part Two: When Isabel disappears in the middle of the night, matters take a turn for the worst. Romeo finds himself trekking through the dangerous wildlands to rescue the young queen with a clownish wizard, a sassy she-cat, a pretty healer, and a mysterious solider. However, their only hope may be the very thing Romeo fears most. Can Romeo and his friends save the day before the shadows consume them? Preorder for $.99/Releases March 25! Don’t forget to add the novella to your Goodreads Shelf.

The Witching Hour is a frolicking fantasy adventure with fairy tale themes and clean romance. Perfect for fans of Diana Wynne Jones and Lloyd Alexander.

Rated: PG for thematic elements and mild battle sequences

And now, the main event: Pursy Character Interview!

Q. Tell us a little bit about yourself. You seem like a well-traveled cat with tons of experiences!

Well, as you probably know, my name is Pursy. I’m a magical dark orange cat, and the royal healer Rose is my human. We don’t just take care of the royal family though. Rose would never agree to that. She has a big heart and wants to help everybody. A noble sentiment, but it can sometimes get her into trouble. And, yes, I am quite experienced, thank you for noticing; although, I haven’t traveled much beyond Rose’s flat, the royal college, and the palace. It isn’t safe to explore the world, you know. Too many hounds. The events of our story was the first time I’d really left the city. And I don’t care to repeat the experience any time soon.

Q. You spend a lot of time with your healer human. How did the two of you meet?

Rose found me when I was just a wee kitten hunting for scraps outside the dumpster near the college. She immediately noticed my talents and adopted me to help her with her training. She even took me to school with her.

Q. What was it like being a cat at a human school?

A little awkward, really. Nobody approved of Rose bringing her “pet” to school. I hate to use that word, but that’s what they called me. It’s quite the insult to a magical cat, you know. Anyway, although magical cats aren’t unheard of, the unmagical varieties are much more common. Her professor took a lot of convincing in regards to my superior qualities. Mostly, I just sat in Rose’s lap or sprawled next to the fire eavesdropping. They wouldn’t even allow me to take the tests, so I am not an official graduate of the college, although Rose insists I deserved certification. I don’t care about the papers, myself: I just like being useful, being able to help those who are suffering. Even cats have callings, you see, and healing is mine.

Q. Tell us a little more about your magic and how you help your human with her job.

I have a gift for emotions—specifically, I can share my emotions with others. So if someone is scared, I can calm them. If they’re in pain, I can lull them to sleep. I can even use my gifts on other magical cats. Like Romeo, the hero of our story. He doesn’t think he needs my help, but my Author insists he actually does. And I agree with her. I mean, look at him: he can’t even keep up with the palace mice these days. (That’s his job, you know, royal mouse catcher.)

Q. What are your other interests?

I love napping in the sunshine, when I can find an elusive patch of it. I also love snuggling with Rose. For a human, she has an uncanny ability to understand cats and relate to them. She treats me like an equal, something most humans don’t do. I also rather like helping people and creatures. I think I was always meant to be a healer’s cat. It’s just in my genes.

Q. After all the events outside of Lite, what are your plans now?

I plan to continue to help Rose with her duties as a healer and to spend as much time at the palace as I can. There are, ahem, creatures there I rather enjoy spending time with.

Q. Rumor has it that a certain kitty caught your fancy. Can you say anything about it?

Cough, cough. Well, since you asked, I am rather interested in a certain black kitty who lives in the palace. I won’t mention any names, but he’s rather charming in his egotistical, full-of-himself way. He doesn’t really think he needs anybody, but underneath all his fuss and bluster, he’s really just a kitten inside. He has a tragic past, and (sigh) I can’t resist a tragic kitty no matter how much he blusters. He needs me, even if he doesn’t know it.

Q. Is there anything else you’d like to share with our readers?

Not really, Lady Selina. Your questions have been extremely on point. If you ever happen to be in Lite during your travels (not that I suggest traveling to Lite, though, because of the shadows and the hounds), do look me up. You’ll probably find me at the palace. I have a feeling I’ll be spending a lot of time there in the future. Who knows, I might even have a litter of little black and orange kittens for you to adore. Cats need to be adored, you know. That’s true for all felines, be that magical or no. Make sure you write that down…

Get a copy

In case you missed it above, you can read Part One for FREE on Amazon and Most Digital Stores. Part Two is available for a special preorder price of $0.99 and released on March 25.

You can also add it to your Goodreads Shelf.

About the author

Savannah Jezowski lives in Amish country with her Knight in Shining Armor and a wee warrior princess. She is the founder of Dragonpen Designs and Dragonpen Press, which offers author services such as cover design, developmental edits, and interior formatting. Her debut novella “Wither” is featured in Five Enchanted Roses, an anthology of Beauty and the Beast, and is a prequel to The Neverway Chronicles, a Christian fantasy series filled with tragic heroes and the living dead. She is also the author of When Ravens Fall, a Norse Beauty and the Beast retelling. She is featured in several Fellowship of Fantasy anthologies, including Mythical Doorways, Tales of Ever After, and Paws, Claws, and Magic Tales. When she isn’t writing, Savannah likes to read books, watch BBC miniseries, and play with cover design. She also enjoys having tea with her imaginary friends.

Learn more about Savannah Jezowski

Want to know about sales and new releases? Sign up for Savannah’s newsletter.

Giveaway!

You can enter to win a paperback of the entire story, both Parts One and Two! Simply click the link and follow the instructions. 🙂

Continue the Tour

Make sure to go back to all the previous posts for all the special release info and extras!

March 18 – Realm Explorers  http://anniedouglasslima.blogspot.com

March 19 –Book Spotlight http://cobonham.com

March 20 – Book Review  https://thefoldedworld.wordpress.com 

March 21 – Guest Post https://tammylash.wordpress.com/

March 22 – Character Interview http://jenelleschmidt.com

           Character Interview www.angeleya.com

March 24 – Character Interview  http://corinnejet.wordpress.com

March 25 – RELEASE DAY  https://dragonpenpress.com/

March 26 – Book Spotlight http://annie-louise-twitchell.blogspot.com/

March 27 – Book Spotlight  www.hlburkeauthor.com/blog

March 28 – Book Review  http://megdendler.blogspot.com/

March 29 – Character Interview https://sjeckert.wordpress.com

Happy reading, bookworms! ❤

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s